If you have purchased a vehicle that is not performing as it should, you may be able to get the protection you need from the Arkansas Lemon Law. Lemon laws are laws that were put in place to help protect the consumer car buyer. Each state has their own set of laws and additionally there are more powerful federal laws. The states enacted these laws to help protect consumers from the big car manufacturers and to even the playing field a bit.
Arbitration is Not Your Friend
When you buy a vehicle typically somewhere in the stacks of literature that you are handed there is always something about arbitration as the solution should something come up that squares you off with the dealership. While this sounds very final, the fact is that there are ways to get around unfair arbitration practices using the lemon law but to take advantage of the Arkansas you must make sure you understand your rights and your responsibilities.
Three Things to Know
There are three things you need to know about the law to ensure that you get the protection you deserve:
1. 24,000 miles, 24 months or the limits of the manufacturer’s warranty is your coverage period. If you do not address the issues within those time frames then you may lose rights. An attorney can help you to determine if your rights are still enforceable.
2. 3 attempts are given to the dealership to fix your car, if the repairs are safety issues there may be other enforceable rules in place.
3. Know what motorized vehicles are NOT covered under the lemon laws.
The laws are in place to protect you but they can be difficult to navigate. A law firm that specializes in helping consumers like you is a good place to start! Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law Center® can help.