In the state of Kansas, a DUI is identified by a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.8 percent or greater. All drivers who opt to operate any form of motor vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs gives the state the right to test them through the implied consent ruling. Intoxicated drivers produce thousands of fatalities in the United States each year.
DUI Laws In Kansas
Any individual convicted of a first-offense DUI in Kansas receives a fine of no greater than $2,500 with a sentence in county lockup of up to one year. The license suspension is ordered for a duration of no more than one year. If the driver holds a commercial driver’s license, it is revoked indefinitely. If you are facing a DUI charge, you should contact a Criminal Defense Law Firm in Junction City KS immediately.
For minors which are convicted on this charge, their blood-alcohol reading must be at least 0.2 percent. They receive a license suspension for no less than one month and must abide by the terms of a restricted license when it is reinstated. If they are convicted for another DUI, their license is suspended for one year.
Children as Passengers
At any time that a DUI is issued when there is a child under fourteen present, upon conviction, the sentence is increased by one month. However, drivers with a blood-alcohol level of more than 0.15 percent could be convicted of aggravated DUI. All fines and penalties are increased when a child is present at the judge’s discretion.
Further Criminal Charges
Drivers who are guilty of a DUI and are involved in an auto accident could face additional charges. The state could charge them with criminal negligence or manslaughter. This is based on the circumstances of the accident, the blood-alcohol level, and the individual’s previous criminal history. If controlled substances are found in the driver’s system, the charges could increase.
In DUI cases, the judge reviews the criminal record of the defendant. Any DUI convictions beyond the third are classified as felonies. If you are facing a felony DUI charge, you should contact your preferred Criminal Defense Law Firm in Junction City KS or visit Addairthurston.com now.